Five Osage Tax Commission members take oath of office

Five Osages will serve staggered terms on the Osage Tax Commission after being appointed by Principal Chief John Red Eagle.

On Aug. 9, Beverly Brownfield (three-year term), Teresa Rutherford (three-year term), Milton Labadie (two-year term), Bobby Walker (two-year term) and Roy Goad Jr. (one-year term) took oath of office at the Tax Commission office in Pawhuska.

The five commissioners will be subject to Osage Nation Congress confirmation for their terms. ON Trial Court Judge Marvin Stepson administered the oath of office.

Walker is a first-time commissioner appointee while the other four have served previous terms. Walker is also the father of Osage Nation Congressman RJ Walker. Tax Commission Administrator Mary Mashunkashey said former commissioner Richard Luttrell retired which left the fifth spot open for another appointee.

All five are subject to Congressional confirmation with other recent board and commission appointees during the 2012 Tzi-Zho Session starting Sept. 4.

The ON Tax Commission is in charge of decisions to levy and collect taxes, and to license and regulate certain activities within the Nation. The Tax Commission office regulates and collects fees on activities including tobacco sales, business licenses, issues tribal vehicle tags and photo identification cards to enrolled Osages.

See more photos from the Tax Commission swearing-in on the Osage News Flickr page. The photo set is


Osage Nation Tax Commission
220 W. Main
United States