ON Congress to consider more board and commission appointees

The Fourth Osage Nation Congress is considering several individuals for board and commission positions that require Congressional confirmation.

On April 20, the Congress voted by majority to confirm Cecelia Tallchief to serve on the Nation’s Health Authority Board. Her confirmation passed with a 9-3 vote. Tallchief previously served on the now-defunct Health Advisory Board during the earlier years of the ON reformed government.

Other recent confirmations include two elders for the Nation’s Traditional Cultural Advisory Committee. Richard Luttrell and Charles Red Corn both received 12-0 unanimous votes from the Congress on April 16. 

Principal Chief Geoffrey Standing Bear is appointing several individuals to the boards and commission posts and those appointments are subject to confirmation consideration by the Congress during the Hun-Kah Session. The appointments will receive initial consideration by the Congressional committees of jurisdiction before they are considered by the entire Congress for a floor vote of confirmation.

As of April 21, the following individuals are appointed to the Nation’s respective board/ commissions:

Foundation Board: Julie O’Keefe, Alex Skibine

Osage Limited Liability Company Board: Raymond Hankins, Phillip Morrow

Osage Nation Energy Services, LLC Board: Charles Hessert