Community , Government , Candidates

Election Board certifies 15 Congressional candidates to appear on ballot

The 15 Osages who filed to run in the 2018 Osage Nation general election for six Congressional seats will all appear on the June 4 ballot after the Election Board certified the candidates.

On March 19, the ON Election Board unanimously voted to certify the list of Congressional candidates after the ON Attorney General’s Office conducted background checks on the 15 individuals. Per the Osage Constitution, an Osage must be at least 25 years old on Election Day and must have no felony convictions if running for Congress.

The 15 Congressional candidates who are now certified to run are: Alice Goodfox (incumbent), Geneva Horsechief-Hamilton, Mary Jo Pratt, Tina R. Allen, Angela Pratt (incumbent), Clair Wood, Amanda Proctor, Michael Kidder, Eli Potts, Colt Herren, Scott Bighorse, William “Kugee” Supernaw (incumbent), Brandy Lemon, Thomas Trumbly and Paula Stabler. 

Election Board members Shannon Lockett, Terry Hazen and alternate board member Anita Fields voted to certify the candidates.        

The June 4 election polling place will be at the ON Museum on the tribal government campus in Pawhuska. There will also be two early voting days on June 1-2 at the ON Election Office at 608 Kihekah in downtown Pawhuska.

Per the Nation’s Election Code there is a three-day window for qualified Osage voters to contest the candidacy of the certified candidates. Any contest of candidacy shall be filed with the Election Office and the deadline to do so is Thursday, March 22, at the close of business. Should a contest be filed, a public hearing will be held to determine the validity of the contest and the board’s verdict shall be final.

In January, the Election Board certified the four candidates running for Executive Branch offices after that respective filing period ended. Geoffrey Standing Bear (incumbent) and Maria Whitehorn are running for Principal Chief and Assistant Principal Chief candidates are Raymond Red Corn (incumbent) and Otto Hamilton.