Election Office holds drawing for candidate name placements on ballot

Photo Caption: Candidates listen to Assistant Election Supervisor Courtney Piearcy during a candidate workshop on April 13 in the Osage Nation Civic Center in Pawhuska. BENNY POLACCA/Osage News

The Osage Nation Election Office held an April 13 candidate workshop and drawing for candidate name placements on the June 4 general election ballot.

That day, the Election Office staff held a drawing to determine the order in which candidate names will appear on the ballot for those seeking Executive Branch or ON Congressional office in the Nation’s general election. Fifteen candidates are seeking six open Congressional seats and two candidates are running for both the Principal Chief and Assistant Principal Chief’s offices. All elected positions carry four-year terms.

Election staff added folded pieces of paper containing the candidate names into a rotating hopper and each name was drawn from the hopper door after it was rotated several times to mix up the names during the candidate workshop. The results of the drawing order are:


Principal Chief

Maria Whitehorn

Geoffrey Standing Bear


Assistant Principal Chief

Raymond Red Corn

Otto Hamilton


Members of Congress

Michael Kidder

Eli Potts

Alice Goodfox

Thomas Trumbly

Brandy Lemon

Tina Allen

Clair Wood

Scott Big Horse

Kugee Supernaw

Colt Herren

Paula Stabler

Amanda Proctor

Mary Pratt

Geneva Hamilton

Angela Pratt


Also listed on the ballot are the three ON Supreme Court Justices who are due for yes/ no retention votes for another four-year term. Those judges are: 

Chief Justice Meredith (Quinata) Drent

Associate Justice Elizabeth Lohah Homer

Associate Justice Drew Pierce


A sample ballot for the June 4 election is also available for viewing on the ON Election Office website at