Minerals Council

Outgoing Minerals Council members say their goodbyes

The outgoing members of the Osage Minerals Council said their goodbyes at the June 20 meeting.

“From now on, every day is going to be Saturday for me,” Councilwoman Cynthia Boone said with a smile.

Thanking her constituents for their support and trust, Boone listed off several of her votes and actions in her official capacity that she was particularly proud of during her 12 years in office, including voting against the proposed changes stemming from the negotiated rulemaking committee with the federal government and testifying earlier this year before the U.S. House of Representatives’ Appropriations Committee.

Boone finished ninth in the June 4th election and challenged the results, but the Osage Minerals Council’s election code only provides for a recount. One was conducted on June 13 and yielded the same outcome.

With a word of encouragement to her successors, second chair Kathryn Redcorn urged the new Minerals Council to continue to protect the shareholders’ assets moving forward.

“One of the things my aunt … made me promise her, she said, ‘I want you to promise me you will do everything within your power to make sure we do not lose this trust,’” Redcorn said. “And I promised her I would do all that I could to protect that trust.

“Believe me, people, there are people who are after what we have.”

Galen Crum chose not to run for a third term. With his voice cracking at times, he encouraged the incoming council members to review what worked for the previous councils and use that as a reference point.

“I would like for the new council to look at things afresh on some of the actions that were taken by the second council and backed up by the third,” he said. “There are some things that need to be addressed still. Those rules, whether you support them or not, a lot of them were completely necessary. We’ve still got CFRs that says there’s a chief, an assistant chief and that the Osage Tribe is the one they’re dealing with.”

Outgoing council members Stephanie Erwin and Joe Cheshewalla were not at the meeting. Erwin and Cheshewalla finished 13th and 10th respectively.