Osage County included in Major Disaster declaration for May flooding and severe storms

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved disaster assistance for 41 Oklahoma counties due to flooding and severe weather that occurred from May 7 to June 9.

According to damage assessments, the storms caused more than $22 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs. Federal funding is now available to assist municipalities, counties, rural electric cooperatives, and the state with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding, according to a news release from Gov. Kevin Stitt’s office.

Disaster assistance is approved for Adair, Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Canadian, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, and Woods counties, according to the release.

Individual Assistance has also been approved for individuals and business owners in 27 counties: Alfalfa, Canadian, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Kay, Kingfisher, Le Flore, Logan, Mayes, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Woods, according to the release.

Additional counties will be added to the public assistance declaration request at a later date as damages are verified, according to the release.

The Osage Nation Financial Assistance office is still serving those Osages affected by the storms. Applicants are eligible to receive up to $1,000 in assistance. Osages can apply online at

To apply for FEMA disaster assistance, visit or call (800) 621-3362.