Five Osage take board oaths by phone, Osage courthouse closed through Sept. 30

With COVID-19 precautionary measures still in place at the Osage Nation, five Osages took their oaths of office by telephone on July 1 for their respective board service.

Those board members with three-year terms include two serving on the Osage Nation Environmental Solutions LLC Board and three serving on the Health Authority Board. All five received confirmation votes from the Sixth ON Congress during the 2020 Hun-Kah Session held in the spring.

The Nation’s tribal courthouse in Pawhuska remains closed to the public – except by appointment only – through Sept. 30 after a written closure order was extended during the month of July. “All business with the Osage Nation Courts and communications with the Clerk’s Office shall be by mail, email or fax until further notice,” the order states.

“All hearings will be conducted by telephone or videoconference when available,” according to the notice. “If you are requesting an emergency order by petition or motion, you must provide a current telephone number when filing your petition or motion by any method – mail, email or fax. If you cannot appear by telephone, contact the Court Clerk’s office to discuss options.”

On July 1, the five board members were instructed to call a designated phone number to take their oaths with Court Clerk Alexandria Toineeta and Associate Trial Court Judge Lee Stout administering the oaths. Those individuals taking board oaths are:

ONES LLC: Eddy Red Eagle Jr. and Anthony Webb. Both were reappointed to the five-member board by Principal Chief Geoffrey Standing Bear.

Health Authority Board: Nancy Keil and Michael Bristow are also reappointments to serve on the five-member board. Cindra Shangreau was appointed in late 2019 and later confirmed to serve her initial term on the Health Authority Board.

For more information on the ON Tribal Courthouse/ Judicial Branch, call (918) 287-5400 or visit its website at: