Saturday, September 24, 2022
83.4 F
HomeGovernmentAbsentee ballot requests for Minerals Council election due by May 13

Absentee ballot requests for Minerals Council election due by May 13

A ballot drawing was held on April 5 for candidate placement on the Minerals Council election ballot

Osage Minerals Council election notices have been mailed and they outline the rules of the June 6 election and outlines the process for absentee voters.

According to the OMC Election Assistant Designee, Nicki Revard Lorenzo, approximately 5,160 notices were mailed to eligible shareholder voters. “Only lineal descendants from the 1906 Osage Allotment roll who will be 18 years of age or over on election day and whose names appear on the quarterly annuity roll at the Osage Agency as of the last quarterly payment,” on March 1, 2022, are eligible to vote.

The 10-member OMC election board is made up of five judges and five clerks. The judges are Donna Barrone, Gene Bowline, Rhonda Wallace, Melvina Prather and Teresa Rutherford. The clerks are Beverly Brownfield, Sharon Damron, Galen Crum, Georgann Tallchief and Julie Malone. The board is responsible for facilitating the election on June 6 and will also help in tabulating the winners. The OMC election office is using the company True Ballot for its election needs.

Absentee ballots

For Osage shareholders who want to vote by absentee ballot, their request must be made in writing to the OMC Election Designee, Billie Ponca, on or before Friday, May 13 by 5 p.m. The requests must be mailed to the address PO Box 807, Pawhuska, OK 74056. An emailed request will not be accepted as the OMC’s election rules and regulations have not been updated by the minerals council to include electronic mail, according to Lorenzo.

In the 2018 election, a total of 937 shareholders voted with 488 of those votes made via absentee.  

Ballot drawing

The OMC election board held a drawing April 5 for ballot placement for the 15 candidates running for the 5th Osage Minerals Council. All candidates were certified on April 4. The candidates will appear on the ballot as follows:

  1. Talee Redcorn
  2. Jimmy “Osage” Dailey
  3. Joseph B. Cheshewalla
  4. Everett Waller
  5. Melissa Currey
  6. Margo Gray
  7. Jeff Revard Patten
  8. Anthony Shackelford
  9. Justin Ben Patterson
  10. Stephanie Erwin
  11. Dana Maker Murrell
  12. Myron F. Red Eagle
  13. Kenny Bighorse Jr.
  14. Paul S. Revard
  15. Cynthia J. Boone

Election Day voting for the Minerals Council will take place on June 6 in the council’s meeting chambers from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Shannon Shaw Duty
Shannon Shaw Duty is the editor of the Osage News. She is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma with a bachelor's degree in Journalism and a master's degree in Legal Studies, Indigenous Peoples Law from the OU College of Law. She served on the Board of Directors for the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) from 2013-2016 and served as a board member and Chairwoman for the Pawhuska Johnson O’Malley Parent Committee from 2017-2020. She is a Chips Quinn Scholar, a former instructor for the Freedom Forum’s Native American Journalism Career Conference and the Freedom Forum’s American Indian Journalism Institute. She is a former reporter for The Santa Fe New Mexican. She is a 2012 recipient of the Native American 40 Under 40 from the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development (NCAIED). In 2014 she helped lead the Osage News to receive the Elias Boudinot Free Press Award, NAJA’s highest honor. An Osage tribal member, she and her family are from the Grayhorse District. She currently resides in Pawhuska, Okla., with her husband and six children.

In Case You Missed it...