Friday, May 24, 2024
78.3 F
HomeGovernmentCandidatesCandidates begin filing for Principal Chief and Assistant Principal Chief

Candidates begin filing for Principal Chief and Assistant Principal Chief

Four candidates have filed as of Dec. 18 for the Nation’s first Primary Election.

Candidates have until Jan. 6 to file for the Offices of Principal Chief and Assistant Principal Chief. The Primary Election will be held on March 10 and the winners will advance to the Osage General Election on June 2.

Osage Congressman Raymond Red Corn was the first to file on Dec. 16, the first day filing opened for the Primary. He filed for the office of assistant chief. Osage Congressman Geoffrey Standing Bear followed and was the first candidate to file for principal chief.

Osage businesswoman Margo Gray filed her candidacy for principal chief on Dec. 17. Gray is reportedly the third woman to seek the top leadership position for the tribe. Mary Jo Trumbly was the first, who filed for President during the Osage Tribal National Council form of government in 1994. The second was Rosemary Wood, who ran for chief in 2002 under the Osage Tribal Council form of government.

On Dec. 18, Principal Chief John Red Eagle filed his candidacy for re-election, even though he faces a removal trial on Jan. 13. According to the Osage Nation Constitution, if Red Eagle is removed from office, “the judgment shall not extend further than to removal from office and disqualification to hold and enjoy any office of honor, trust or profit in the Osage Nation, but shall not prevent proceedings in the courts on the same or related charges.”

Currently, the election code only disqualifies an individual if someone is convicted of a felony, or if election rules aren’t followed upon filing.  

Important Upcoming Dates

Absentee ballot mailing begins on Jan. 29. The Osage Election Office has chosen True Ballot Inc. as the company to handle the Primary and General Election. True Ballot also handled the 2010 and 2012 elections.

Feb. 10 – Deadline to request an absentee ballot.
March 7 – Early Voting, polls open 12 p.m. to 8 p.m.
March 8 – Early Voting, polls open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
March 10 – Election Day, polls open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

General Election

March 14-31 – Filing dates for members of Congress, six positions available
April 23 – Absentee ballot mailing begins
May 5 – Deadline to request an absentee ballot
May 30 – Early Voting, polls open 12 p.m. to 8 p.m.
May 31 – Early Voting, polls open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
June 2 – Election Day, polls open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The Osage Election Office is located at 608 Kihekah in downtown Pawhuska. For more information on the upcoming elections contact the election office at (918) 287-5289.


Shannon Shaw Duty

Original Publish Date: 2013-12-19 00:00:00


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Shannon Shaw Duty
Shannon Shaw Duty

Title: Editor


Twitter: @dutyshaw

Topic Expertise: Columnist, Culture, Community

Languages spoken: English, Osage (intermediate), Spanish (beginner)

Shannon Shaw Duty, Osage from the Grayhorse District, is the editor of the award-winning Osage News, the official independent media of the Osage Nation. She is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma with a bachelor’s degree in Journalism and a master’s degree in Legal Studies with an emphasis in Indigenous Peoples Law. She currently sits on the Freedom of Information Committee for the Society of Professional Journalists. She has served as a board member for LION Publishers, as Vice President for the Pawhuska Public Schools Board of Education, on the Board of Directors for the Native American Journalists Association (now Indigenous Journalists Association) and served as a board member and Chairwoman for the Pawhuska Johnson O’Malley Parent Committee. She is a Chips Quinn Scholar, a former instructor for the Freedom Forum’s Native American Journalism Career Conference and the Freedom Forum’s American Indian Journalism Institute. She is a former reporter for The Santa Fe New Mexican. She is a 2012 recipient of the Native American 40 Under 40 from the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development. In 2014 she helped lead the Osage News to receive NAJA's Elias Boudinot Free Press Award. The Osage News won Best Newspaper from the SPJ-Oklahoma Chapter in their division 2018-2022. Her award-winning work has been published in Indian Country Today, The Washington Post, the Center for Public Integrity, NPR, the Associated Press, Tulsa World and others. She currently resides in Pawhuska, Okla., with her husband and together they share six children, two dogs and two cats.

In Case You Missed it...

Upcoming Events