Wednesday, February 1, 2023
15.9 F
HomeGovernmentCongress confirms five individuals to serve on Osage Nation boards

Congress confirms five individuals to serve on Osage Nation boards


Benny Polacca

During the 2018 Hun-Kah Congressional Session, the Fifth Osage Nation Congress voted to confirm five individuals to serve three-year terms on the Nation’s respective boards.

Appointed by Principal Chief Geoffrey Standing Bear, those five individuals served as interim board members pending confirmation votes by the Congress. Those who received confirmation votes are:

– Julie Malone, who received a 10-0 unanimous confirmation vote to serve on the Gaming Enterprise Board on April 18. This is the first board term for Malone who is a retired gaming industry professional with work experience at the former Osage Million Dollar Elm Casino and Muscogee (Creek) Nation Gaming.

– Nancy Pillsbury Shirley, who received a 10-0 unanimous confirmation vote to serve on the ON Foundation Board. Shirley has more than 40 years of experience in the business and nonprofit industries and received her first Foundation Board confirmation in 2009 by the First ON Congress.

– Michael Bristow, who received a unanimous 10-0 vote to serve on the ON Health Authority Board. Bristow, a licensed speech pathologist, will serve his first term on the five-member board. Bristow’s appointment comes after Mike Moore, president and COO of Jane Phillips Medical Center in Bartlesville, resigned from the HAB in January.

-Ladd Oldfield, who received a 9-0-1 confirmation vote to serve on the Nation’s Bluestem Ranch LLC Board. The vote count includes one abstention from Congresswoman Shannon Edwards. Oldfield, a veterinarian, will serve his first term on the ranch board.

– Belle Hill Wilson, who received a 9-0-1 confirmation vote to serve a second term on the ON Election Board. Congresswoman Alice Goodfox abstained from voting for Wilson, who is her aunt. Wilson recused herself from Election Board duties for the June 4 election activities and business matters for the 2018 election after Goodfox filed to run for re-election seeking a third Congressional term. Wilson will resume her board duties after the Election Board (with alternate board member Anita Fields now serving) completes all business related to the June 4 election, which includes certifying the results and conducting any requested ballot recounts.

Original Publish Date: 2018-05-17 00:00:00


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Benny Polacca
Benny Polacca started at the Osage News in 2009 as a reporter and has covered various stories and events impacting the Osage Nation and Osage people. Polacca is part of the News team awarded the Native American Journalist Association’s Elias Boudinot Free Press Award in 2014 and other NAJA Media Awards and SPJ Oklahoma Pro Chapter awards for news coverage and photography. Polacca is an Arizona State University graduate and participated in the former American Indian Journalism Institute at the University of South Dakota. He previously worked at The Forum newspaper covering the Fargo, N.D. region as the weeknight reporter.

In Case You Missed it...

Upcoming Events