Wednesday, March 22, 2023
60 F
HomeCommunityElections for Pawhuska School Board seat today

Elections for Pawhuska School Board seat today

Three candidates are running for a seat on the school board for the Pawhuska Public Schools district.

Incumbent John Star Bighorse (Osage) is up against Duane Easley (Osage) and Christi McNeil for School Board Member Office No. 3.  The person elected will join the five-member board which seats Justin Sellers (Osage), Tom Boone (Osage), Lori Hull and Jeff Bute.

Voting precincts include Pawhuska, Hominy, Shidler and Grainola. In Pawhuska, voters can vote at the Calvary Baptist Church located at 15th Street and Lynn, or the Presbyterian Church located at 12th Street and Grandview.

Polls close at 7 p.m.

The Osage County Election Board will begin counting absentee ballots at 7 p.m., according to Andrea Conner, secretary. Voters can follow the election and find the election results at

Conner said they should know the results by 8 p.m.

To win the school board seat the candidate must win by 50 percent plus one vote. If a candidate does not receive this percentage, a run off election will take place for the top two candidates on April 2.

To be eligible to vote in the election the voter must reside in the school district, which includes the towns of Barnsdall, Shidler, Grainola, Hominy and surrounding areas. According to the county election board, there are 2,849 eligible voters. 


Osage News

Original Publish Date: 2013-02-12 00:00:00

Osage News Staff
Stories that are not primarily written by an Osage News staff member will have a “Osage News” byline. These stories include press releases and other community content that was drafted by someone externally but reviewed and approved for publication by Osage News. As an independent news organization, we strive to report news and information with fairness and balance. While being the official news organization of the Osage Nation, we base our news judgements on our loyalties to our readers and Osage citizens, and we are not directly beholden to the Executive, Legislative, or Judicial branches of the Osage Nation.

In Case You Missed it...

Upcoming Events