Friday, September 23, 2022
91.3 F
HomeGovernmentCandidatesFifteen candidates file for the 5th Osage Minerals Council

Fifteen candidates file for the 5th Osage Minerals Council

The Osage News is hosting an April 30 debate for the candidates of the minerals council, as well as the candidates for chief, assistant chief and the Osage Nation Congress. The debate will be hosted at the Osage County Fairgrounds in the Ag Building from 1-6 p.m. An Osage meal will be served.

Fifteen shareholders have filed their candidacies for eight open seats on the 5th Osage Minerals Council.

This is the first time in the reformed government’s history that the minerals council election race is bigger than that of the Osage Nation Congressional race. In the congressional race, 13 candidates filed during a registration period that spanned 35 days. The candidate registration period opened for the OMC election on March 1 and ended on March 15.

OMC candidates must be Osage shareholders and acquire 25 signatures from Osage shareholders to run. The signatures must then be approved by the OMC election office for the candidate to be certified. The deadline for OMC candidates to turn in their 25 signatures is April 4.

The Minerals Council “Election Designee,” as named in federal law, is Billie Ponca and the “Assistant Election Designee” is Nikki Revard Lorenzo. The 10-member OMC election board is made up of five judges and five clerks. The judges are Donna Barrone, Gene Bowline, Rhonda Wallace, Melvina Prather and Teresa Rutherford. The clerks are Beverly Brownfield, Sharon Damron, Galen Crum, Jan Tallchief and Julie Malone. The board is responsible for facilitating the election on June 6 and will also help in tabulating the winners. The OMC election office is using the company True Ballot for its election needs.

The election notice to the more than 5,000 eligible Osage shareholders will be mailed this week, according to Malone.

Listed below are the Minerals Council candidates and the order in which they filed:

1. Justin Patterson, filed March 1

2. Joe Cheshewalla, filed March 1

3. Myron Red Eagle, filed March 1 (Incumbent)

4. Jeff Patten, filed March 1

5. Paul Revard, filed March 1 (Incumbent)

6. Melissa Currey, filed March 2

7. Dana Maker Murrell, filed March 3

8. Margo Gray, filed March 4 (Incumbent)

9. Stephanie Erwin, filed March 7

10. Jimmy Osage Dailey, filed March 7

11. Cynthia Boone, filed March 8

12. Talee Redcorn, filed March 11 (Incumbent)

13. Everett Waller, filed March 15 (Incumbent)

14. Anthony Shackelford, filed March 15

15. Kenny Bighorse Jr., filed March 15

Election Day for Osage shareholders is on June 6 and coincides with the Nation’s General Election.

The Osage News is hosting an April 30 debate for the candidates running for the OMC, chief, assistant chief, and Congress. The debate will be hosted at the Osage County Fairgrounds in the Ag Building from 1-6 p.m. An Osage meal will be served.

The OMC election office is located at 813 Grandview Ave., in the OMC chamber offices. Office hours are Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For more information on the Minerals Council election, call (918) 287-0010.


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Shannon Shaw Duty
Shannon Shaw Duty is the editor of the Osage News. She is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma with a bachelor's degree in Journalism and a master's degree in Legal Studies, Indigenous Peoples Law from the OU College of Law. She served on the Board of Directors for the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) from 2013-2016 and served as a board member and Chairwoman for the Pawhuska Johnson O’Malley Parent Committee from 2017-2020. She is a Chips Quinn Scholar, a former instructor for the Freedom Forum’s Native American Journalism Career Conference and the Freedom Forum’s American Indian Journalism Institute. She is a former reporter for The Santa Fe New Mexican. She is a 2012 recipient of the Native American 40 Under 40 from the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development (NCAIED). In 2014 she helped lead the Osage News to receive the Elias Boudinot Free Press Award, NAJA’s highest honor. An Osage tribal member, she and her family are from the Grayhorse District. She currently resides in Pawhuska, Okla., with her husband and six children.

In Case You Missed it...