Friday, June 24, 2022
96.8 F
HomeGovernmentElection ResultsFive incumbents, one new Congressman elected to Fifth ON Congress

Five incumbents, one new Congressman elected to Fifth ON Congress

The Osage people reelected five incumbents and one new Congressman to the Fifth Osage Nation Congress in the 2016 general election.

In complete and unofficial results announced shortly after 10:30 p.m. on June 6, the following Osages received the highest votes:

– Archie Mason – 941 (7.88 percent of total votes cast)

– Joe Tillman – 926 (7.76 percent)

– Maria Whitehorn – 926 (7.76 percent)

– RJ Walker – 890 (7.45 percent)

– Shannon Edwards – 776 (6.50 percent)

– John Maker – 721 (6.04 percent)

Tillman, a former ON division leader for education/ culture is the sole new Congress member. The Fifth ON Congress will take oath of office in early July.

The Election Board is scheduled to meet Friday June 10 to certify the election results, pending any challenges or requests for recounts.

Also according to the results, the sole constitutional amendment question passed regarding the maximum punishment allowed to be issued by the ON tribal court system. That question passed with 84.47 percent “yes” votes, which is above the 65 percent threshold required for a constitutional amendment to pass.

The constitution will be amended to state the Nation cannot “require excessive bail, impose excessive fines, inflict cruel and unusual punishments, and in no event impose for conviction of any offense any penalty or punishment greater than allowed by federal law.” Currently the 2006 Osage Constitution states the Nation cannot issue punishments that are longer than one year in jail, nor impose fines greater than $5,000.   

The remainder of the unofficial results starting with the candidates placing seventh to 15th:

– Brandy Lemon – 665 (5.57 percent)

– Rebekah HorseChief – 650 (5.44 percent)

– Michael Bristow – 633 (5.30 percent)

– Fi Davis – 596 (4.99 percent)

– John Jech – 584 (4.89 percent)

– Danette Daniels – 552 (4.62 percent)

– Hank Hainzinger – 547 (4.58 percent)

– Myron Red Eagle – 541 (4.53 percent)

– Jacque Jones – 510 (4.27 percent)

Check back to for any election-related updates or follow the Osage News on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.


Benny Polacca

Original Publish Date: 2016-06-07 00:00:00


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Benny Polacca
Benny Polacca started at the Osage News in 2009 as a reporter and has covered various stories and events impacting the Osage Nation and Osage people. Polacca is part of the News team awarded the Native American Journalist Association’s Elias Boudinot Free Press Award in 2014 and other NAJA Media Awards and SPJ Oklahoma Pro Chapter awards for news coverage and photography. Polacca is an Arizona State University graduate and participated in the former American Indian Journalism Institute at the University of South Dakota. He previously worked at The Forum newspaper covering the Fargo, N.D. region as the weeknight reporter.

In Case You Missed it...