Tuesday, August 9, 2022
89.1 F
HomeGovernmentBusinessOKSPJ awards Osage News with Best Newspaper

OKSPJ awards Osage News with Best Newspaper

Photo Caption: Osage News Senior Reporter Benny Polacca and Editor Shannon Shaw Duty at the 2018 OKSPJ awards. Courtesy Photo

The Society of Professional Journalists, Oklahoma Pro Chapter, awarded the Osage News First Place in its Best Newspaper category.

“This award is significant in that it recognizes and legitimizes tribal media as contributors to the News Industry in both local and tribal communities across Oklahoma,” said Osage News Editor Shannon Shaw Duty. “We are modern storytellers and hold dear the journalism ethics of fairness, accuracy and ethical reporting. Tribal communities have stories to tell and we are thankful to OKSPJ for recognizing our efforts.”

The Osage News won Best Newspaper in OKSPJ’s B category, which encompasses all newspapers with a circulation of less than 25,000. The Osage News is mailed to approximately 7,000 Osage Nation members and non-members and currently works with a staff of three and a devoted freelancer in Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton. The Osage News staff is made up of Shaw Duty, Senior Reporter Benny Polacca and Editorial Assistant/Photographer Chalene Toehay-Tartsah.

Second place went to the Tri-County Herald, which serves the Meeker, McLoud, Dale and North Rock Creek areas. Third place went to The Tulsa Voice, an alternative newspaper in Tulsa that comes out the first and third Wednesday of each month.

Osage News Editor Shannon Shaw Duty was also awarded second place in the General News Reporting, Newspaper B category, for her article, “Judge orders DNA testing in membership removal case.”

The OKSPJ hosts a yearly awards banquet that recognizes the best in Oklahoma journalism in the categories of Public Relations, Radio, Television, Online, Magazine, and Newspapers. This year’s banquet was hosted at the DoubleTree in Tulsa.

Attending the banquet for the Osage News was Shaw Duty and Polacca.

“Tonight we celebrate the achievements of Oklahoma’s finest journalists and the fact that good reporting should never be silenced,” said OKSPJ President Kevan Goff-Parker in his President’s letter to award winners.

Other Oklahoma newspapers that competed in the OKSPJ’s Best Newspaper B category are:

The Cleveland American

Muskogee Phoenix

Tahlequah Daily Press

The Tulsa Voice

Oklahoma City Community College Pioneer

Stillwater News Press


McAlester News-Capital

Watonga Republican

15th Street News

The Ada News

Muscogee Nation News

Tri-County Herald

The Vista 


Osage News

Original Publish Date: 2018-06-18 00:00:00


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Osage News Staffhttps://osagenews.org
As an independent news organization, we strive to report news and information with fairness and balance. While being the official news organization of the Osage Nation, we base our news judgements on our loyalties to our readers and Osage citizens, and we are not directly beholden to the Executive, Legislative, or Judicial branches of the Osage Nation.

In Case You Missed it...