Thursday, June 23, 2022
75.3 F
HomeGovernmentElection ResultsOsage Nation Election Board certifies general election results

Osage Nation Election Board certifies general election results

The Osage Nation Election Board voted unanimously Tuesday morning to certify the results of the 2018 general election.

With no challenges filed, the outcome remains unchanged from election night.

Principal Chief Geoffrey Standing Bear and Assistant Principal Chief Raymond Red Corn were each re-elected with a supermajority of the votes cast.

Standing Bear received 67.85 percent of the votes cast, compared to 30.43 percent for challenger Maria Whitehorn.

Red Corn received 69.53 percent of the votes for Assistant Principal Chief while Otto Hamilton received 28.22 percent.

“Thank goodness we had a clear winner (in the executive branch races),” ONEB Chairwoman Shannon Lockett said. “Technically, we still could have had a run-off if neither candidate in one of those races had not hit 51 percent.”

Receiving almost 10 percent of the votes cast, former Principal Chief and state representative Scott BigHorse led all Congressional candidates. Also finishing among the top six were Eli Potts, Second Speaker Alice Goodfox, Brandy Lemon, Speaker Angela Pratt and Pawhuska Indian Village board member Paula Stabler.

The tribe’s three Supreme Court judges, Meredith Drent, Elizabeth Lohah Homer and Drew Pierce, were also retained by a supermajority of votes.

In accordance with legislation adopted during the 2017 Tzi-Zho Session, the inauguration will be July 14.

The board and election staff also expressed their gratitude for the Osage Nation Museum for being willing to be the lone precinct for the general election site.

“I think we found a new home for the elections,” Election Board supervisor Alexis Rencountre said.

“They went out of their way to accommodate us,” Lockett added.

With one of its members participating in the meeting via telephone, the board declined to review or take action on the post-election campaign finance reports. The 24 disclosure statements will instead be taken up at the board’s next meeting, tentatively scheduled for June 19. 


Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton

Original Publish Date: 2018-06-13 00:00:00


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Osage News Staff
As an independent news organization, we strive to report news and information with fairness and balance. While being the official news organization of the Osage Nation, we base our news judgements on our loyalties to our readers and Osage citizens, and we are not directly beholden to the Executive, Legislative, or Judicial branches of the Osage Nation.

In Case You Missed it...