Tuesday, August 9, 2022
89.1 F
HomeGovernmentElection ResultsOsage Nation Primary Election results announced

Osage Nation Primary Election results announced

One hour after the polling place closed, the Osage Nation Election Office announced the results of the 2014 primary election for the Executive Branch’s top two offices.

The top two vote recipients in each respective race will advance to the June 2 general election for the voters’ consideration.

In complete but unofficial results, Principal Chief candidates Geoffrey Standing Bear and Margo Gray won the most votes in that race. Standing Bear received 1,080 votes or 60.47 percent. Gray received 359 votes or 20.10 percent.

Assistant Principal Chief candidates Raymond Red Corn and Amanda Proctor will also appear on the June 2 ballot. Red Corn received 707 votes or 39.50 percent and Proctor received 503 votes or 28.10 percent.

According to Election Supervisor Alexis Rencountre, a total of 1,798 voted in the Nation’s inaugural election with the majority of votes coming from absentee ballots. The vote breakdown is:

– Absentee ballots: 1,077

– Early voting on March 7: 139

– Early voting on March 8: 87

– In-person voting on March 10: 495

Other candidate vote results are:

In the Principal Chief’s race, Tom Boone placed third with 347 votes or 19.43 percent.

In the Assistant Principal Chief race, Terry Mason Moore placed third with 441 votes (24.64 percent); Randoph Crawford was fourth with 79 votes (4.41 percent); and James “Osage” Dailey received 60 votes or (3.35 percent).


Shannon Shaw Duty

Original Publish Date: 2014-03-10 00:00:00


Get the Osage News by email!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Shannon Shaw Dutyhttps://osagenews.org
Shannon Shaw Duty is the editor of the Osage News. She is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma with a bachelor's degree in Journalism and a master's degree in Legal Studies, Indigenous Peoples Law from the OU College of Law. She served on the Board of Directors for the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) from 2013-2016 and served as a board member and Chairwoman for the Pawhuska Johnson O’Malley Parent Committee from 2017-2020. She is a Chips Quinn Scholar, a former instructor for the Freedom Forum’s Native American Journalism Career Conference and the Freedom Forum’s American Indian Journalism Institute. She is a former reporter for The Santa Fe New Mexican. She is a 2012 recipient of the Native American 40 Under 40 from the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development (NCAIED). In 2014 she helped lead the Osage News to receive the Elias Boudinot Free Press Award, NAJA’s highest honor. An Osage tribal member, she and her family are from the Grayhorse District. She currently resides in Pawhuska, Okla., with her husband and six children.

In Case You Missed it...